Your browser (Internet Explorer 6) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

More IBA Accolades

Yesterday, only the top slots of each category were available in the Internet Baseball Awards.  Let’s see how the rest of the squad fared:


7. Jose Reyes
10. Roy Oswalt
12. Jason Bay
13. Brandon Webb
28. Ryan Zimmerman (traded away)
30. Chipper Jones
35. Adrian Gonzalez (traded away)
37. Adam Dunn
40. Jeff Kent
55. Aaron Harang

65. Chad Tracy – 1 2nd-place vote
76. Khalil Greene – 1 4th-place vote
76. Clay Hensley – 1 4th-place vote
92. Doug Davis – 1 7th-place vote
93. Dave Roberts – 1 8th-place vote

Yep, someone must have voted for all the Padres.  The question is, how did they vote for Khalil Greene as 4th, and Dave Roberts as 8th?  Let’s compare:

PLAYER     G    AVG   HR    RBI  RUNS   SB
Greene    121  .245   15    55    56     5
Roberts   129  .293    2    44    80    49

So it’s not as lopsided, though both are positive contributors on defense, but for fantasy purposes, Roberts was much more effective, thanks to the average and steals.

NL Cy Young:

1. Brandon Webb
2. Roy Oswalt
10. Aaron Harang
13. Derek Lowe
36. Clay Hensley
41. Chuck James

All single 5th-place votes:
45. Chad Cordero
45. Hong-Chih Kuo
45. John Maine

NL Rookie:

3. Ryan Zimmerman (traded away)
5. Prince Fielder
11. Clay Hensley
19. Chuck James
20. Ronny Paulino
21. Stephen Drew (traded away)
22. John Maine
29. Mike Jacobs
33. Hong-Chih Kuo
52. Carlos Quentin

All single 5th-place votes:
54. Tom Gorzelanny (traded away)
54. Ben Johnson (released)
54. Taylor Buchholz (released)

So the Roadrunners have a good scouting department, but don’t necessarily hang onto their players for too long.